Gulf of Maine Council on the Marine Environment Gulf of Maine Council Uses Social Media Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google Plus Pinterest

Gulf of Maine Council Annual Recognition Awards

The Gulf of Maine Council on the Marine Environment has over the years recognized efforts by individuals, groups or organizations that seek to protect, enhance and restore the ecosystem of the Gulf of Maine region and safeguard and improve the wellbeing of the communities that depend on its resources.  The Council has established awards to bestow on individuals and organizations for their exemplary work as stewards of the ocean.  Each year the Council accepts nominations for the awards which include: Visionary awards, the Sustainable Community awards, the Industry award, the Art Longard award, and the Susan Snow-Cotter award.   A description and nomination form for each award can be found below.  Awards are presented at a special ceremony in June of each year.

The Gulf of Maine Council is now accepting nominations for 2018 Awards.  Nomination forms must be submitted electronically to by Friday, March 30, 2018.

Gulf of Maine Visionary Awards

Up to two individuals, businesses, or organizations within each state and province bordering the Gulf of Maine will be selected to receive Visionary Awards (paid professionals or volunteers are eligible). The awards recognize innovation, creativity, and commitment to protecting the marine environment. Recipients may work in the fields of environmental science, education, conservation or policy. They may be engaged in projects that involve public awareness, grassroots action, or business/manufacturing practices.

2018 Visionary Award Nomination Form

Gulf of Maine Sustainable Community Award

Each year, the Gulf of Maine Council recognizes a community, or group within a community, for exemplary work in achieving sustainability outcomes related to the environment and economy, that are in line with the objectives of the Council’s Action Plan.

2018 Sustainable Communities Award Nomination Form

Gulf of Maine Industry Award

The Gulf of Maine Industry Award is made annually to one individual, company, or organization within the Gulf of Maine region (Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Maine, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia). The Award recognizes demonstrated innovation and leadership in efforts to improve the well-being of the Gulf of Maine ecosystem and the communities that call it home. Nominations are sought from the following sectors: tourism; fisheries (commercial and recreational); aquaculture (finfish and shellfish); renewable energy generation (tidal, wave and wind) and; transportation (shipping, ferries, etc.).

2018 Industry Award Nomination Form

Longard Volunteer Award

The Council presents this annual award to an outstanding volunteer within the Gulf watershed who has made significant contributions to conserving or managing the Gulf’s resources. Past recipients have been involved in stewardship projects, educational programs, volunteer monitoring and scientific research. The award is named in memory of Art Longard, a Nova Scotia resident and devoted conservationist who helped to conceive and launch the Gulf of Maine Council. 

2018 Longard Award Nomination Form

Susan Snow-Cotter Leadership Award

The Susan Snow-Cotter Leadership Award is bestowed in memory of Susan Snow-Cotter, a long-time friend of the Council and Working Group. The Award is given to an individual from one of the five states and provinces bordering the Gulf of Maine. The Susan Snow-Cotter Leadership Award honors those coastal management professionals who exemplify outstanding leadership or exceptional mentoring in the Gulf of Maine watershed. As former Director of the Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management, Susan was recognized as a leader who exhibited unwavering passion, enthusiasm, and insight to develop pragmatic approaches to coastal management challenges.

2018 Susan Snow Cotter Award Nomination Form


Congratulations to all of the Gulf of Maine Council’s award winners from past years.

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Awards Winners

2014 Award Winners

Previous award recipients (HTML)


ESIP releases an exciting smartphone app: ICUC

The EcoSystem Indicator Partnership (ESIP) released a smartphone app, available for iOS and Android. [ Click here for more ]