Gulf of Maine Council on the Marine Environment Gulf of Maine Council Uses Social Media Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Google Plus Pinterest

The Working Group

The Working Group serves the Gulf of Maine Council by working with Council members to develop and implement a 5-year Action Plan and shorter term work plans for GOMC initiatives.  The Working Group is made up of representatives of state and provincial governments of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts; US and Canadian federal agencies including Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, U.S. Environment Protection Agency, National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration, and U.S. Department of Interior; and committee co-chairs. The Working Group meets regularly to promote bi-national and cross-jurisdictional efforts toward a healthy Gulf of Maine ecosystem.

Members

Working Group Chair (2016-2018)
Peter McLaughlin, New Brunswick
Council Coordinator
Joan LeBlanc
978.866.7284 jleblanc@gulfofmaine.org

 

Jurisdictional Representatives

Nova Scotia

Carla Buchnan, Nova Scotia Environment
902.424.7008 Carla.buchan@novascotia.ca

Bill Whitman, Nova Scotia Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
902.532.8449 bill.whitman@novascotia.ca

New Brunswick

Peter McLaughlin, New Brunswick Department of Environment and Local Government
506.457.4850  Peter.McLaughlin@gnb.ca

Russell Henry, New Brunswick Department of Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries
506.453.2252 Russell.Henry@gnb.ca

Maine

Theresa Torrent, Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
207.287.2351 Theresa.Torrent@maine.gov

New Hampshire

Steve Couture, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
603.271.8801 Steven.Couture@des.nh.gov

Massachusetts

Prassede Vella, Massachusetts Office of Coastal Zone Management
617.626.1217 Prassede.Vella@state.ma.us

Jack Schwartz, Massachusetts Division of Marine Fisheries
978.282.0308 Jack.Schwartz@state.ma.us

Federal Agencies Representatives

Heather Breeze, Fisheries and Oceans Canada*
902.426.9851 Heather.Breeze@dfo-mpa.gc.ca

Rebecca Newhall, National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration*
978.281.9237 Rebecca.Newhall@noaa.gov

Kathryn Parlee, Environment and Climate Change Canada*
902.426.1719 Kathryn.Parlee@ec.gc.ca

Ann Rodney, U.S. Environment Protection Agency
617.918.1538 Rodney.Ann@epa.gov

Walter Barnhardt, U.S. Department of Interior
508.457.2211 wbarnhardt@usgs.gov

Committee Co-Chairs (Please refer to Projects)

W.S. (Bill) Appleby, Environment Canada
902.426.4053 Bill.Appleby@ec.gc.ca

Ellen Mecray, National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration
508.824.5116 Ellen.l.Mecray@noaa.gov

John Catena, National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration
978.281.9251 John.Catena@noaa.gov

James Latimer, U.S. Environment Protection Agency
401.782.3167 Latimer.James@epa.gov

Betsy Nicholson, National Ocean and Atmospheric Administration
617.869.9148 Betsy.Nicholson@noaa.gov

Glen Herbert, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
902.802.7051  glen.herbert@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Christian Krahforst, University of Massachusetts
ckrahforst@gmail.com

Peter Wells, Bay of Fundy Ecosystem Partnership
902.477.3674 oceans2@ns.sympatico.ca

*Hold a Committee Co-Chair position

Highlights

ESIP releases an exciting smartphone app: ICUC

The EcoSystem Indicator Partnership (ESIP) released a smartphone app, available for iOS and Android. [ Click here for more ]